May 10, 2013



South Africa’s Mikey February, with powerful turns like this one, earned a 15.17, the Men’s highest total heat score of the day. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

Challenging Conditions Continue During Day 6, With A New Swell Forecast For The Final Two Days

Day 6 of the Reef ISA World Surfing Games reached the critical stage as the competition field was reduced and more surfers are out of the event.

The race for the Fernando Aguerre World Team Champion Trophy, the International Olympic Committee (IOC) President’s Trophy and the “Copa V Centenario Del Descubrimiento Del Oceano Pacifico,” or 5th Century Cup of the Discovery of the Pacific Ocean, and the individual Gold Medals intensified with only 2 more days of competition.

The surf conditions were challenging again today with lack of swell and strong onshore winds.  The contest had a delayed start after a holding pattern to wait for conditions to improve. The first heat kicked off at 1:45pm and features the Men’s and Women’s Repechage.

At this point, the competition has narrowed to less than half of the original competitors, making every heat exciting.

“With waving flags and loud cheers, team spirit is at its highest as we approach the final days of competition,” said an excited ISA President, Fernando Aguerre. “The National Teams are fighting for their spots on the podium, the trophies and the Gold Medals. I wish the best to all surfers. Watch all the action unfold on the live webcast over the weekend!”

Today began with the last heat of Men’s Repechage 4, where Alvaro Malpartida from Peru won with 12.23 points defeating Puerto Rico’s Alejandro Moreda (9.37), his team mate Tommy Brusian (9.27) and Costa Rica’s Jair Perez (8.67). Unfortunately for Brusian and Perez, they were eliminated after finishing in third and fourth respectively.

The action continued with Women’s Repechage, in which the two South African athletes Tanika Hoffman and Faye Zoetmulder, who were in the same heat and had the best scores, advanced to the next round. Hoffman earned a notable 15.27, defeating Zoetmulder’s 12.73, Pamela Verboonen (MEX, 5.33) and Malena Toral (PAN, 3.16), who are now out of the contest.

Hoffman landed an impressive floater on one of the biggest waves of the day, earning 8.00 points and finished with another great wave of 7.27, for a total score of 15.27.

Other standouts that advanced to the next round where Nao Omura (JPN), Lisbeth Vindas (CRC), Barbara Segatto (BRA) and Pomare Tempano (CHI).


Japan’s Nao Omura, advance to the next round keeping their Medal hopes alive. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

To finish the day, Mikey February (RSA), in the Open Men’s Repechage 5, gave a great performance posting 15.17 points, the highest total points of the Round, defeating Russell Molony (AUS, 11.17), Alejandro Moreda (PUR, 6.30) and David Diaz (VEN, 5.47).

The other competitors that survived another day of competition were David Van Zyl (RSA), Ruda Carvalho (BRA), Miguel Tudela (PER) and Jose Francisco (BRA).

For a full list of today’s results, click here-

At this point in the contest, Team South Africa is leading followed by Brazil, Australia and Peru.

Here’s a full list of team standings after day 6 of competition:

  1. South Africa
  2. Brazil
  3. Australia
  4. Peru
  5. Costa Rica
  6. Argentina
  7. Chile
  8. Venezuela
  9. Mexico
  10. Panama
  11. Italy
  12. Ecuador
  13. Puerto Rico
  14. New Zealand
  15. Japan
  16. Switzerland
  17. El Salvador
  18. Guatemala
  19. Uruguay
  20. Jamaica
  21. Turkey
  22. Canada
  23. Sweden
  24. Russia

The top 7 placing teams will qualify for the ISA China Cup, the ISA’s signature event that is held annually in January on Hainan Island in the South China Sea.

The 2013 Reef ISA World Surfing Games resumes tomorrow with The Morning Show at 6:40am (Panama time) hosted by Otto Flores, featuring South Africa’s David Van Zyl and Tanika Hoffman and a special guest, Andres Fernandez who is not only one of the event’s Spanish language web announcers, but also an ambassador for Granito de Arena, a non-profit organization whose mission is to promote the care of the ocean through education.

Following that, the competition will feature:
Open Men’s Qualifying Round 4
Open Women’s Qualifying Round 3
Open Women’s Repechage Round 4
Open Men’s Repechage 6
Open Men’s Qualifying Round 5
Open Women’s Qualifying 4
Open Women’s Repechage Round 5
Open Men’s Repechage 7

The live webcast of the entire championship is available on

Here is the schedule for Day 7:
Saturday, 6:40am Santa Catalina, Panama
Saturday, 4:40am West Coast USA
Saturday, 1:40pm Western Europe/South Africa
Sunday, 9:40pm Sydney, Australia
Sunday, 11:40pm Auckland, New Zealand

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running the Open Division World Championship since 1964, the World Junior Surfing Championship since 1980, the World Masters Surfing Championship since 2007, the World Bodyboard Championship since 2011, the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival in China, and the World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship beginning in 2012. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the World Tandem Surfing Championship, and will launch the World Longboard Championship in 2013. ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 73 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER), Debbie Beacham (USA) and Layne Beachley (AUS).

More on