Ver Noticia en Español

Dubai, Scotland, And Maldives To Compete For The First Time In ISA History, Demonstrating The Global Development Of The Sport And Its Universality

Chile's Guillermo Satt, who placed 5th at the 2013 Reef ISA World Surfing Games in Panama, is warming up in Punta Rocas to get a podium finish at the Claro ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games.
Chile’s Guillermo Satt, who placed 5th at the 2013 Reef ISA World Surfing Games in Panama, is warming up in Punta Rocas to get a podium finish at the Claro ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games. Photo: ISA/ Rommel Gonzales

A total of 23 countries and over 150 athletes and coaches are confirmed to participate in the historic Claro ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games, held at the world-class Punta Rocas, Peru. Each National Team consists of up to 4 Open Men and 2 Open Women surfers plus Team Officials.

The confirmed countries are Argentina, Australia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dubai, Ecuador, Israel, Japan, Maldives, Mexico, New Zealand, Panama, Peru, Puerto Rico, Russia, Scotland, South Africa, Switzerland, Tahiti, Turkey, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

Team South Africa will be looking to defend the Team Gold Medal, but don’t count out 2013 ISA World Surfing Games runners-up, Australia, and of course, Peru, who has proven to defend the home court, as they did at the 2010 ISA World Surfing Games held in Punta Hermosa, Peru.

“We are just a couple of days away from the Opening Ceremony and the start of the Claro ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games in Peru. All National Teams have been announced and the athletes have begun to arrive in the iconic Southern-Peruvian coastal town of Punta Rocas, Peru, the same break where the World Surfing Championship was held in 1965,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre.

New Zealand's Grace Spiers, who has competed in multiple ISA World Championships, will bring plenty of skill experience for Team New Zealand. Photo: ISA/ Michael Tweddle
New Zealand’s Grace Spiers, who has competed in multiple ISA World Championships, will bring plenty of skill experience for Team New Zealand. Photo: ISA/ Michael Tweddle

“The surfers will be practicing at the world-class point break waves in preparation for the competition that begins with the Opening Ceremony on Friday and the competition on Saturday. Great surfing conditions and waves in the head high to overhead range in Peru are welcoming the delegations. As I like to remind all athletes, while a few competitors will go home with medals, all of them are already winners, as they are surfing as members of their National Surfing Teams.”

Surfline, the official forecaster of the event, has predicted pumping waves for the opening days of the competition followed by great surf for the whole contest period.

We are tracking a moderate to potentially fairly solid SW swell for the first couple days of the event waiting period (24th-25th) from a storm now centered around 2000 miles from Peru,” said Surfline Forecaster Kevin Wallis. “That swell will receive reinforcements on the 26th-27th with the surf leveling off, before fading for the 28th-29th. A smaller, but possibly fun size, SW swell is currently on the long-range radar for the final couple days of the event.”  

The full Surfline Forecast can be found on-

Below is a full list of the confirmed teams. Please note team registration closes on Thursday and is subject to change. The final list will be found on-

Open Men:
Santiago Muñiz
Leandro Usuna
Nahuel Rull
Felipe Suárez
Open Women:
Josefina Ane
Lucía Cosoleto
Team Officials:
Rubén Muñiz
Cristian Petersen
Santiago Di Pace
Juan Baldino

Open Men:
Hayden Blair
Otis Carey
Nicholas Squiers (Team Captain)
Shane Holmes
Open Women:
Philippa Anderson
Jessica Grimwood

Open Men:
Guillermo Satt
Cristian Merelo
Tristan Arcardi
Nicolas Undurraga
Open Women:
Jessica Anderson
Lorena Fica
Team Officials:
Juan Agustin Echeverria
Diego Medina
Francisco Veliz

Open Men:
Jefferson Tascon Prado
Anderson Tascon Prado
Alejandro Covo Meisel
Daniel Olmos
Open Women:
Sofia Loewy
Margarita Conde
Nestor Tello
Andrés Espinosa
Diana Palacios
Team Officials:
Lena Lizarazo Sizâ

Costa Rica
Open Men:
Gilberth Brown López
Maykol Torres
Anthony Fillingim
Issac Vega
Open Women:
Lisbeth Vindas
Leilani Mc Gonagle
Emily Gussoni
Team Officials:
Gustavo Corrales
Randall Chaves

Open Men:
Mohammad Rahma

Open Men:
Jonathan Zambrano Chila
Adrian Dapelo
Open Women:
Dominic Barona
Team Officials:
Xavier Aguirre Molina
Byron Yagual de la Rosa
Open Men:
Vladimir “Vovka” Merlis
Yonatan Klein
Team Officials:
Yossi Zamir

Open Men:
Ryota Matsushita
Kan Watanabe
Sasuke Kawatani
Yoji Osedo
Open Women:
Nao Omura
Hinako Kurokawa
Team Officials:
Osamu Yoshinaga
Kimifumi Imoto
Manuel Tafur

Open Men:
Hussain Areef
Ahmed Agil
Ismail Miglal
Mohamed Irushad
Team Officials:
Ahmed Aznil
Ahmed Rifaee
Mohamed Hamza

Open Men:
Diego Cadena
Angelo Lozano
Mario Farias
Mike Velasco
Open Women:
Alma Denisse Martinez Salazar
Pamela Verboonen
Hector Soto
Pablo Linares alt
Emilio Linares alt

New Zealand
Open Men:
JC Susan
Tane Wallis
Zen Wallis
Open Women:
Grace Spiers
Team Officials:
Janine Spiers

Open Men:
Jean Carlos González
Diego Salgado
Roberto Díaz
Gary Saavedra
Open Women:
Samanta Alonso
Sonia García
José Luis Rodriguez
Jhoanny Alfonso
Team Officials:
Alirio Carles
Maria Eugenia Calvo
Geancarlo Loria

Open Men:
Joaquin Del Castillo
Cristobal De Col
Gabriel Villaran
Sebastian Alarcon
Open Women:
Analí Gómez
Melanie Giunta
Alvaro Malpartida
Vania Torres
Team Officials:
Martin Dunn
Gabriel Aramburu
Renato Quezada
Ricardo Kauffman

Puerto Rico
Open Men:
Eduardo Roure (Team Captain)
Ricardo Delgado
Nicolas Moreda
Tomas Bursian
Open Women:
Kelly Laide Roca
Bernice Cardona

Open Men:
Sergey Rasshivaev
Dmitry Zabula
Ivan Fominykh
Anton Morozov
Open Women:
Irina Kosobukina

Open Men:
Mark Boyd
Mark Cameron
Iain Masson
Andrew Robertson
Open Women:
Phoebe Strachan
Jennifer Wood

South Africa
Open Men:
Casey Grant
David Van Zyl
Michael February
David Brand
Open Women:
Tanika Hoffman
Faye Zoetmulder
Team Officials:
Etienne Venter
Johnny Bakker

Open Men:
Benedek Sarkany
Michael Zaugg
Philip Mappes
Christen Pascal
Open Women:
Nataly Bernold (out)
Renate Bickel

Open Men:
William Peckett
Nils Despouy
Open Women:
Valérie Poppke
Karelle Poppke
Team Officials:
Philippe Klima

Open Men:
Tunc Ucyildiz

Open Men:
Segundo Vargas
Sebastian Olarte
Lucas Madrid
Santiago Madrid
Open Women:
Delfina Morosini
Celia Barbosa
Juan Pablo Fernandez
Team Officials:
Juan Malek
Ariel González Teste
Sebastian Gattas

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 89 countries in five continents. It’s headquartered in La Jolla, California and is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA's four Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER), Debbie Beacham (USA) and Layne Beachley (AUS).